Sunshine Blogger Award

sunshine-blogger-award

Having recently been nominated for the Sunshine Blogger Award by Artemis, this week’s post will be on that subject. To be nominated for an award like this is a great honour, and it has left me feeling tremendously bucked up (which is several letters away from how I usually feel). So thank you for the nomination, and now let’s get to work.

The rules are pretty simple:

  • Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions posted by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post.

The questions I was given were:

What was the first movie you ever saw in a cinema?

The first movie I remember seeing at a cinema was Return of the Jedi. I remember loving the space battles and thinking the Ewoks were kind of annoying, which just goes to show that even then I had impeccable taste. I don’t go to many movies these days, but I did just see Doctor Strange. It was good, you should watch it.


If you could snap your fingers and be super-talented at any one (non-fantastical) thing, what would it be?

It’s a tough call, but if I could only choose one thing it would be writing fiction. I love telling stories and sharing imaginary worlds, and being able to do that full time would be something of a dream come true.


Is there any food you absolutely can’t stand?

When I was a kid I absolutely hated raw tomatoes – they made me gag, I couldn’t stand them. A while ago I wondered if that might have been something I grew out of. Turns out they still make me want to vomit.


Based on your own personality, which
Stock Japanese Character would you be?

I spent a lot of time going through that list, and it was disturbing how many of them seemed to have some applicability. I’ll admit, however, that I didn’t really identify with any of them – perhaps I’m just not very Japanese. Honestly, I think something else is much closer to my personality.


Assuming it was totally safe and you had the time and money, where would you most like to spend a week’s vacation?

I’ve always been fascinated by the Chernobyl Exclusion Zone, it would be amazing to spend a week exploring that. It would probably also give me nightmares for decades, mind you.


What natural disaster is the most terrifying?

A gamma ray burst or a modest meteor strike have the potential to wreck civilisation as we know it, and I’ve read too much fiction around those events to take them at all calmly. If you want something a little less cosmic, however, then a tsunami is hard to beat.


Have you ever broken any bones and if so, how?

Not that I know of.


Even if you’ve only watched a few minutes, what’s the single worst anime you’ve ever seen?

Ooh, the agony of choice! I really, really didn’t like Dragon Ball. I actually think it’s worse than Triage X, which is not something I ever thought I would say about anything. However, while Triage X is ridiculously boobtastic it is at least not quite as scatological and rapey. That might be damning with faint praise, but faint praise is all either of these shows is going to get from me.


What charity would you donate a million dollars to?

The Red Cross seems like a solid choice.


Did you ever believe in Santa, the Easter Bunny, or the tooth fairy?

Oh, absolutely. All of them, I think, although I reckon by the time I was 6 I had my doubts. Then again, I know a 15-yr old who still believes in Santa, so who am I to say what’s right?


What’s your biggest pet peeve?

I hate having to pick just one. Ok, here we go – native speakers with shitty English. I mean seriously: you grew up in an English-speaking country, surrounded by native English speakers, ingested English media daily, and went through an education system which was in part designed to make sure you could communicate in English. And yet I taught Japanese pre-schoolers with better English than an alarmingly high proportion of adults in New Zealand.

Now, in my day job, I get to edit work full of gems like “help you identify about opportunities”, “aircrafts”, and “agreeance”. And these are produced by professional writers and English teachers.

let-that-sink-in

I would like to nominate the following bloggers in turn for this award. Of course there’s no need to take part if the mood doesn’t take you, and my apologies if you have already been nominated.

Diary of an Aspiring Writer

Memoirs of a Time Here-After

Panzers Vor!

Wrong Every Time

The Afictionado

Fashionable Tinfoil accessories

Steamed Up

thesixfootbonsai

unbolt.me

Arbitrary Expressions

Nick has a bit of a ned moment

And my questions to those bloggers:

  1.  What made you take up blogging?
  2. What would be a perfect day for you?
  3. What habit of yours would you most like to change?
  4. If you could give one piece of advice to writers/bloggers, what would it be?
  5. What’s a favourite quote? And context, if it needs it!
  6. What’s something people would be surprised to learn about you?
  7. What is your favourite blog post on your blog?
  8. What makes you smile?
  9. What is the most beautiful place you have ever visited and why?
  10. Which conspiracy theory do you think is most likely to be true?
  11. The Internet Olympics is a thing: which event are you competing in?
About Dr. J.H. Watson

I’m a New Zealander, in my 30s, and until recently I lived in rural Japan. I have interests in history, pop culture, video games, and the clever use of language.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

